Cover Image

Charles Ives's America

by Ives, Charles, 1874-1954.

Music (CD)

Saved in:

Availability Loading...

Add Tag

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!

Table of Contents:
  • Prologue: Variations on "America"
  • Battle cries of freedom: Overterue and March "1776"
  • "They are there!" (a war march song)
  • Town and gown: Suite, Old home days: Waltz ; "The opera house" and "Old home day" ; "The collection" ; Slow march ; "London Bridge is falling down!"
  • March, "Intercollegiate"
  • Fugue in C
  • March, "Omega Lambda Chi"
  • Variations on "Jerusalem the golden"
  • March, "A son of a gambolier"
  • Postlude in F
  • "Band stuff": Country band march
  • "Decoration Day" from Four New England holidays
  • Horseplay: "Charlie Rutlage"
  • March, "The circus band"
  • Runaway horse on Main Street"
  • March no. 6 "Here's to good old Yale"
  • Epilogue: "The Alcotts" (from Piano sonata no. 2, Concord, Mass., 1840-1860).