Cover Image

Banished : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church

by Drain, Lauren.

Print Book

Saved in:

Availability Loading...

Summary

"In the tradition of Escape and Stolen innocence, the first look behind the curtains of the Westboro Baptist Church, by a young woman cast out from its clutches"--Provided by the publisher. Full description

Tags:

Add Tag

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!

Summary: "In the tradition of Escape and Stolen innocence, the first look behind the curtains of the Westboro Baptist Church, by a young woman cast out from its clutches"--Provided by the publisher.
Lauren Drain's childhood seemed average American, but when her liberal-minded father set out to film a documentary about the audacious and cultish hate group, the Westboro Baptist Church, he found himself seduced. At 14, Lauren was moved with her family to Kansas to live in the Westboro compound. There, Lauren found a new community offering both a warm welcome and a complex set of rules and regulations, including curbs on her teenage freedom and punishments meted out unjustly. The WBC's modus operandi is its aggressive and vitriolic campaigns against anyone and everyone it deems immoral or sinful--the U.S. military, the Catholic Church, homosexuals, and more. Over the next seven years, Lauren would try to assimilate their extreme beliefs. She traveled the country as an active and vocal picketer, spouting the church's message of hate at public events, with shockingly offensive signs promoting their agenda. But as she matured and began to question and bristle against some of the church's tenets, she was unceremoniously cast out, and permanently cut off from her family. BANISHED is the story of one young woman's journey into and out of a world of extremists, and of building a positive new life out of the ashes of her old one.--From publisher description.
Item Description: "A memoir"--Jacket.
Physical Description: 295 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
ISBN: 9781455512423 (hbk.)
1455512427 (hbk.)
9781455512430 (ebk.)
1455512435 (ebk.)
Author Notes: LAUREN DRAIN works as a registered nurse. She lives with her fiancé in Connecticut, where she enjoys outdoor activities including endurance races, hiking, dirt biking, and camping. This is her first book. LISA PULITZER is a former correspondent for The New York Times. She is the author and co-author of more than a dozen non-fiction books, including the bestselling Stolen Innocence.
×